jump to navigation

Genealogy Blog July 29, 2006

Posted by trmurphy in Genealogy, the Journey.
trackback

Lorelle’s blog has a few things in common with mine. We both use WordPress; and we’re both interested in Genealogy. She’s planning a new blog devoted to Genealogy and has written about it. Very interesting. Of her 10 plan points, I ignored all but 3 of the 10 (I use WordPress) 3/4 (I use Bluehost). 1/6/9/10 shouldn’t be a problem. 5 is important and something I talked about in MY first blog entry. I first wrestled with multiuser/DBaccess in the early ’70′s at IBM; it is no small problem. Which leaves 7/8. They probably explain why the Genealogy part of my blog has been relatively unsuccessful. Expecting (nonGeek) family members, more interested in the Genealogy-result than supplying data, to spontaneously contribute, IS ASKING TOO MUCH. Perhaps the key is to make it so friendly, they can’t resist. In addition to being computerShy, perhaps the typical family member has concern for supplying personal information to the Internet. So I’ll be real interested in how/if Lorelle addresses these aspects. Albeit, I have ASSumed that a generic blog such as mine, could be a Genealogy Blog.

This post to my log will be my first attempt at using Trackback. Hmm, no trackback control in WP except title in published example Guess I have to publish it first then apply Lorelles trackback info to that…??? . It was way down at the bottom; and you MUST apply link BEFORE you publish. Guess I should have looked for help first…  This is a great introduction to weblog terms for web-log readers. I use Lorelle’s RSS feed on MyYahoo to monitor her writing. (comic relief: the WordPress spell checker does not recognise the word blog !!)

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

