Some history of my Genealogy story

In the late 1960's I began to get information from Uncle Tom. He had quite a bit drawn out on some old sheets of paper. The first Murphys of Ontario was pretty well complete. He had a notation that the founder Thomas Murphy was from Aughina, Ireland. It took me a long time to figure out that this was not a town or city in Ireland; but rather a parish just outside Macroom. Macroom is an old town to the northwest of Cork city in County Cork. Of course Aghinagh has been spelled 20 differant ways over the years. I visited the area in 1994, but made no real progress on the murphy tree. It is a very scenic area. I stayed in Kinsale for 3 days and took day trips. Some referances to the old parish can be seen at http://www.rochetree.com/rochetree/website/index.html Look for links to Aghinagh graveyards.

Original Aghinagh ChurchOld Aughina church remains

Only the stone walls remain. While looking for a picture I thought I had.. I came across my first effort along these lines a few years ago: go here

Published by

trmurphy

Retired recovering IBMer

Leave a Reply

